• Welcome to F150Lightningforum.com everyone!

If you're joining us from F150gen14.com, then you may already have an account here!

If you were registered on F150gen14.com as of April 16, 2022 or earlier, then you can simply login here with the same username and password!

Sponsored

Tell me why this charger cabinet is a bad idea…

DucMan

First Name
Scott
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicles
‘22 Lightning Lariat ER
Any reason this setup won’t work? (I’m not a professional carpenter)

It’s not finished. I’ll paint the inside, attach the charger holster better, etc. I have some metal straps, I’ll try to fashion a bracket to make so it’s a bit more difficult to steal.

It’s on the shady side wall, on a cabin in the North Carolina mountains that I use for vacation/ rent via Airbnb and VRBO type rentals. I plan to leave it plugged in and tucked away in its cabinet. Renters with EVs can use it, and I’ll advertise it as such.

Are there problems with leaving the mobile charger plugged in always?

Scott

Ford F-150 Lightning Tell me why this charger cabinet is a bad idea… 978A2F1B-CBC0-4591-B792-B86CB4057118

Ford F-150 Lightning Tell me why this charger cabinet is a bad idea… A8A6DA6D-5A1E-4667-879B-E11ECC5B12B3
Sponsored

RickLightning

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicles
'22 Lighting ER Lariat,'22 Mach-E Premium 4X
No reason to unplug.

sotek2345

First Name
Tom
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicles
2022 Lightning Lariat ER, 2021 Mach-e GT
Occupation
Engineering Manager
Depending on how hot it gets you might want some form of ventilation or a sign saying to keep the door fully open when in use.

RedLightning86

First Name
David
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicles
2022 F150 Lightning (Lariat). 2009 Escape Hybrid.
The only downside I can see, aside from adequate ventilation, is wasps nesting in there.

Leaving it on all the time is minimal electricity, and would allow it to get OTA software updates, assuming you have wifi there.

Snappy22

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicles