• Welcome to F150Lightningforum.com everyone!

If you're joining us from F150gen14.com, then you may already have an account here!

If you were registered on F150gen14.com as of April 16, 2022 or earlier, then you can simply login here with the same username and password!

Sponsored

Transfer switch question

Wsaunders2

First Name
Wally
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicles
2021 Ford F-150 Lariat SCrew FX4 Powerboost
Occupation
IT Director
So I’m no electrician and had a couple companies give a proposal to wire the house for a transfer switch. The bids differed substantially though both specified the same Generac switch that I’ve seen referenced here. One technician said that the switch could NOT be used with a standard portable generator, the other said it could. From what I read I believe it cannot. If not, do I trust the technician who believes it can to do the work since they had the lower bid? Both companies are well known electrical companies in my area. Thank you for your thoughts and opinions.
Sponsored

Tony Burgh

First Name
Tony
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicles
22 Lariat ER
Occupation
Retired
What size? 200 amp? 30 amp?
Automatic or manual switching?
Ask questions of the electricians. Best one is usually Why.

metroshot

First Name
Pat
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicles
2022 Lariat F150L + 2023 MME
Occupation
Networking Tech
Go to a forum that you can ask specifically your questions at:
https://www.doityourself.com/

This forum has some very knowledgeable members that have saved me lots of money when I had projects I did not understand.

beatle

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicles
Model S, Ridgeline, Miata, motorcycle(s)
If one transfer switch cannot be used for a portable generator, what can it be used for? That's really why residential transfer switches exist.

Hamtech

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicles
KIA Sorento, Tesla X
Occupation
Lawyer
The reason hooking the Lightning up like a normal generator is more complicated is for two reasons: