• Welcome to F150Lightningforum.com everyone!

If you're joining us from F150gen14.com, then you may already have an account here!

If you were registered on F150gen14.com as of April 16, 2022 or earlier, then you can simply login here with the same username and password!

Sponsored

Connecticut Owners -- Electric Plane + F150 Lightning: Help Needed!

roktay

First Name
Remy
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicles
Nissan Leaf
Hello Lightning Owners,

I posted this same message in one of the other threads, but thought it would also be appropriate to put it here since it is region specific.

I am a student at Lafayette College and in coordination with the Office of the President I am planning the first electric plane flyover of a sporting event at the Lafayette-Lehigh football game on November 19th, 2022. The plane that we will be using is based in Hartford, Connecticut and to get it to Easton, Pennsylvania, it will need to stop to recharge 3 times.

There is currently no charging infrastructure at these airports but since the plane charger can take 240v 30A AC input, we realized we could use a F150 lightning as a chase truck to recharge it from the outlet in the bed of the truck. The plane is a Pipistrel Alpha Electro.

We are working with corporate contacts at Ford headquarters to see how they could provide vehicles for getting the plane to PA in November, but we need to run through the charging operation next week to gather charge time data to build out the logistics plan. We are planning to do this on Wednesday Oct 5th at the Hartford-Brainard airport, and are hoping to connect with a Lightning owner in the area who might be interested in helping with this project. This run through will only work with a Lightning that has the 9.6 kW Pro Power package.

Thank you for your willingness to consider this opportunity.

If you are interested, please message me.