• Welcome to F150Lightningforum.com everyone!

If you're joining us from F150gen14.com, then you may already have an account here!

If you were registered on F150gen14.com as of April 16, 2022 or earlier, then you can simply login here with the same username and password!

Sponsored

Electrical demand with more EVs on the road. Is there enough power supply for future growth?

SmokingtheMeats

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicles
2010 F-150
Occupation
Tech
I see that California is experiencing issues with power consumption of its users and moving to level 3 grid emergency with possible rolling power outages possible to save energy. http://www.caiso.com/Documents/consumers-advised-to-be-prepared-for-possible-outages.pdf

How does this affect owners who are new to EV? Is there anything in place to expand the capacity at a state level, or even federally? Will this cause electric costs to rise as well?

I’m very new to this and was just curious how people handle this currently if they plan on having their truck charged and there is an unexpected outage.

@metroshot have you dealt with this before?
Sponsored

metroshot

First Name
Pat
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicles
2022 Lariat F150L + 2023 MME
Occupation
Networking Tech
I see that California is experiencing issues with power consumption of its users and moving to level 3 grid emergency with possible rolling power outages possible to save energy. http://www.caiso.com/Documents/consumers-advised-to-be-prepared-for-possible-outages.pdf

How does this affect owners who are new to EV? Is there anything in place to expand the capacity at a state level, or even federally? Will this cause electric costs to rise as well?

I’m very new to this and was just curious how people handle this currently if they plan on having their truck charged and there is an unexpected outage.

@metroshot have you dealt with this before?