• Welcome to F150Lightningforum.com everyone!

If you're joining us from F150gen14.com, then you may already have an account here!

If you were registered on F150gen14.com as of April 16, 2022 or earlier, then you can simply login here with the same username and password!

Sponsored

Possible additional RV Park charging solution

LSP

First Name
Scott
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicles
Lightning Lariat ER, Audi e-Tron , Mazda Miata
First, a disclaimer. Unlike many on this forum, I am no expert when it comes to electrical issues and charging. So I probably won’t be able to answer many second level or beyond questions. That being said, my recent charging experience was educational and informative for me and so I thought that I would share it.

We just returned from our first 1,000 mile road trip from Orange County to Mammoth Lakes and back with a side trip to Death Valley in our ER Lariat. A great trip! While the EA chargers in Hisperia, Coso Junction and Bishop were great, there is no public high speed charging option yet in Mammoth. So I did some research and found that the Mammoth Mountain RV Park offered charging when spots were not already reserved or being used for a reasonable fee. The reviews on PlugShare were good and it was a fairly short walk from our condo. So before heading up I called them to confirm availability and inquire about what I needed to be able to use my Ford mobile charger. The gal I spoke to was very nice and said that all that I needed to do was to plug in my charger to their 240V outlet and I’d be good to go (first tip- ask if their outlets are 30Amp or 50Amp).

When I got to town and drove the truck down to charge the office was closed and I got their voicemail when I called. I picked an open spot and got out my charger. It didn’t fit because their outlet (as apparently most are at RV Parks) is a tt-30 amp plug. So for that night I used the 120V option provided for a whopping 1KW/hour charge.