• Welcome to F150Lightningforum.com everyone!

If you're joining us from F150gen14.com, then you may already have an account here!

If you were registered on F150gen14.com as of April 16, 2022 or earlier, then you can simply login here with the same username and password!

Sponsored

I need info on home charging

averagerider

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicles
Ram 1500
I am a complete newbie at Lightning issues. If this issue has been dealt with in the past, please direct me to the thread. After looking, I am not finding what I need. So, apologies if this is redundant.

I am considering purchasing a 2022 Lariat with standard range battery. I intend to put into my garage a Level 2 charging station. I have in front of me info from Ford stating "Basic Level 2 EVSEs start at 16 amps, though most professional installer will recommend a larger 30- or 40- amp system." I have a spare 30 amp breaker available in my garage. So, question, will that breaker provide the amperage I need? Or stated otherwise, what determines the amount of amperage that the Lightning system will draw? Is 30 enough?

I will greatly appreciate any help you more in-the-know people can provide.

averagerider
Sponsored

Daragh

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicles
2023 Lightning Lariat ER
Occupation
Engineer
Chargers run continious current unlike most other loads in your house. Because of this the max continuous current can only be 80% of the breaker rating. So if you have a 30A breaker you can run up to 24A charging current into the battery. If you install a NEMA 14-50 plug for a charger you can only run the charger up to 40A etc. The lightning SR will draw up to 48A max at 240V as it has a single on board charger. The ER has two 40A chargers on board so can draw up to 80 from an appropriately sized charger.