• Welcome to F150Lightningforum.com everyone!

If you're joining us from F150gen14.com, then you may already have an account here!

If you were registered on F150gen14.com as of April 16, 2022 or earlier, then you can simply login here with the same username and password!

Sponsored

Off-Grid Setup - Without Home Integration and SunRun Discussion

WaterWiz

First Name
James
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicles
23 Lightning ER
I wanted to create this thread for those interested in having backup power using the Lightning Extended Range without the Home Integration System. Disclaimer - I am not an engineer or professional electrician. I am a tinkerer and love learning new things. Consult a professional. I can be an idiot sometimes.

My Current Off Grid Setup
Technical -My Florida home has a ground-mounted 15kW solar panel array that feeds two split-phase LV6548V2 inverters (13kW output combined) with a 50kWh battery backup. I do not use net metering. (I donā€™t provide the grid; I put the excess in batteries)

Typically speaking, I have solar panels that, on a sunny day in Florida, create 70kWh of electricity.

What does that mean?
My home uses an average of 50kWh/day in power, and I generate 20kWh of excess power that I put in the batteries. The power does not go out because I technically donā€™t need the grid.
With no losses and using the Lightning ER battery, I have 131kWh of usable battery. I can power my house (no solar) for almost three days using the ER Lightning and the 30 amp plug in the truck bed alone.
The problem is when running the refrigerator, TV, internet, etc., and the air conditioner kicks on, I will trip the capacity of the 30-amp outlet.