• Welcome to F150Lightningforum.com everyone!

If you're joining us from F150gen14.com, then you may already have an account here!

If you were registered on F150gen14.com as of April 16, 2022 or earlier, then you can simply login here with the same username and password!

Sponsored

Intelligent backup power issues/unreliable

ElectroJames

First Name
James
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicles
2023 Ford F150 Lightning
Occupation
Retired Master Electrician
Hi, to preface my background is as a former master electrician/solar installer, I did this, install myself and purposefully tried to keep all of my wiring behind the wall to limit the amount of surface mount conduit‘s to the equipment.. Currently I am the CTO for a start up solar product. So troubleshooting is natural to me, but this feels more like a software issue.

I installed my intelligent back up system, and I have had nothing but unreliability, glitches, issues and it feels like it comes back to either an issue with the truck or communication between it and the pro charger.

Yesterday, through the FordPass app, I noticed it said the intelligent power couldn’t function because of a fault inside of the truck. This morning when I went to leave, my main odometer display was blank so I couldn’t tell how fast I would be going, I disconnected the battery and reconnected it that worked however then the frunk wouldn’t close so I manually closed it. And in that process of resetting by disconnecting the battery, the “truck fault” alert on my FordPass app did disappear, so I thought what better time to try another utility outage simulation…

Funny enough after waiting around for about 4 mins 2.5x the normal time it did transfer power, but then it kicked back off after 15 seconds and gave an option on the truck display to “start” the power transfer which never worked.